Week In Review

Truth

Source: theberry.com

Source: theberry.com

Well, I got a kick in the butt when I got measured for the first time in a while yesterday. My behavior the last few months has definitely caught up with me. I’m trying to focus on the positive things instead of being disappointed in myself. I set a goal to be in the best shape of my life by my 30th birthday. That’s two weeks from tomorrow and I think I can safely say now that I’ve met that goal.

This time last year I didn’t think I could run a 5k. This time two years ago, I struggled to run a mile. This morning I ran 6.25 miles.

This time last year, the only strength training I did were the machines at the gym. This time two years ago I was pretty much all flab. Yesterday morning I tackled a battle ropes workout (with some misery lol). I do strength training 3 days a week now. I continue to workout with my trainer. I don’t think I could have imagined doing these things two years ago.

I need to keep this in mind when I’m beating myself up over my recent weight gain. I peaked with my weight loss in November. Then the holidays hit. Then busy season at work hit. Somewhere in there I got burnt out on tracking calories. Right now I’m silencing the part of my brain that’s telling me I’m making excuses. No, those things are realities of life. And the awesome thing is, I can recognize that and move past it. I’m still on my journey.

I mean, I’m still contemplating running a freaking half marathon! Of course, I’ll head up the stairs to bed in a little while and wonder if my knees can handle one. But that’s what training is for, right?

So even though I was disappointed while I was being measured yesterday, I’m not going to let it get me down. I’ve been doing a lot of good for myself over the last year or so. I’m going to appreciate that. And I know the next decade of my life is going to bring some pretty great things for me.

Standard

Leave a Reply

