Week In Review

Back At It

Source: Pinterest

Source: Pinterest

For anyone in the Northeast, I’m sure you’re feeling pretty jazzed about how nice the weather was today. It was almost enough to make up for the fact that it’s Sunday. I started the day off with a long run. I mapped a route that was overly ambitious though and ended up walking over a half mile back home. As much as I had been looking forward to today because I wanted a nice long run, my head wasn’t into it. I think I set myself up for mental failure a little because when I was mapping out my route, I knew it was a bit more of an increase than recommended and I couldn’t shake that idea. But I thought I’d try it. And I’m not going to beat myself up that. It did turn out to be a nice route and I’ll probably try it again next Sunday!

So my “rest” week is over. I can’t say I made a lot of good choices during my week of not tracking. But I think I got my head back in the game. I started tracking again yesterday and it didn’t feel like a chore. I’m going to do more weeks “off” in the future so that I don’t get burned out again. Perhaps every other month I’ll take a week off so I can mentally reboot. The best part of the week was how nice it was to cook and not have to weigh/measure everything. I could throw some chicken and veggies in a pot for soup and it only took a few minutes.

I’m hoping that in the somewhat near future (later this year?) I won’t have to track at all. Once I reach my goal, I’m going to switch to tracking for maintenance and hopefully be able to wean off once I get a good idea of what my daily nutritional needs are for maintaining my weight.

Has anyone had experience with that? I get kind of anxious thinking about it. Even when my trainer suggested I not track for a week last weekend, I felt a certain fear. I don’t know if it’s fear of the unknown (since tracking has become a way of life for me) or a fear of failure. I guess all I can do is try to set myself up with the tools for success by continuing to build good habits and use tracking for as long as I need to.

Standard

Leave a Reply

