Recipe Monday

Eating Colorful Foods

Sometimes eating pretty food just makes meal time better. And I know it’s good for you to eat a wide range of colorful veggies. But I didn’t set out for that when I decided to make Thai Chicken Pizzas. Instead, I was trying to think of a way to use up some cilantro I had left and a reason to buy a package of soft pitas from my local discount produce store. I must have had inspiration from some prior Pinterest browsing when I decided that’s what I was going to make. I whipped up a quick chicken in peanut sauce, cut and shredded some veggies, and voila!

Isn't it pretty?

Isn’t it pretty?

I layered a whole wheat pita with peanut chicken, a bit of shredded mozzarella, some jalapenos, red peppers, zucchini, carrots and stuck it in the toaster oven to bake. Once everything was warmed through and cooked a bit, I topped it with fresh cilantro. I will definitely be making these again!

Here’s the recipe for the peanut chicken. Have fun playing around adding different types of veggie toppings!

Peanut Chicken

Ingredients

  • 1 cooked chicken breast, shredded (mine yielded about 7 ounces)
  • 3 tsp seasoned rice vinegar
  • 1/3 cup peanut butter
  • 1/4 cup warm water
  • Red pepper flakes, to taste

Directions

  • Stir together peanut butter in water until it dissolves. Stir in rice vinegar and pepper flakes. Mix in chicken until coated.

Quick-glance nutrition information (from myfitnesspal app)

Servings: 4 (about 3 ounces each) | Calories: 201 | Fat: 12.3 grams | Carbs: 5.5 grams | Protein: 18.7 grams

Standard

Leave a Reply

