Recipe Monday

Oatmeal Banana Pie!

Okay, so it really is baked oatmeal. But since it was Pi Day over the weekend and I wanted to use my pretty pie dish, I’m calling it oatmeal pie. I’ve been seeing baked oatmeal recipes on Pinterest and decided it was time to try one. I’m glad I did. This was an easy, healthy and special breakfast.

A healthy breakfast treat

A healthy breakfast treat

Ingredients:

  • 3 bananas, mashed (I used smaller bananas and ended up with about 285 grams)
  • 1 cup fat free milk
  • 1 egg
  • 2 tsp vanilla
  • 1.5 cups quick oats
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 2 tbs chopped pecans
  • A few dashes cinnamon

Directions:

  • Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
  • Spray an 8 x 8 baking dish or pie pan with cooking spray.
  • Mix mashed bananas, milk, egg and vanilla.
  • Add oats, baking powder. baking soda, cinnamon and nuts. Mix well and let sit for 10-15 minutes.
  • Pour into baking dish and bake for about 40 minutes, until center is set and edges are browned.

I topped this with a drizzle of maple syrup because it needed a little more sweetness. I think if my bananas were riper or if I had used bigger ones, it might have balanced it out a bit more. But the maple syrup was an extra nice treat!

Quick-glance nutrition information (from myfitnesspal app)

Servings: 4 | Calories: 241 | Fat: 6.1 grams | Carbs: 39.8 grams | Protein: 8.4 grams

Source: http://www.southerninlaw.com/2014/03/healthy-banana-bread-baked-oatmeal-recipe.html

Standard

Leave a Reply

