Mid-Week Break

Daily affirmations

My mom has always told me about (harped on) the power of positive affirmations. Telling me to say things like, “I turn this to good” when something isn’t going my way. It’s not something I’ve ever really bought into. Perhaps because it’s a little too vague. Because I don’t know how to turn whatever the specific situation is to good. I’m practical. I like to have action steps.

Recently, I started working with a health/weight loss coach through a free mobile app pilot that my work is offering. (hey, why not, right?) She suggested we do a daily goal check in. It reminds me of the positive affirmations my mom tells me about, but I like it much better. When we first talked, she listened to what I was doing and why, and framed it as a list of goals. I get them in my email every morning and I’m supposed to read them out loud and report back that I did it.

Here’s my list:

I am embarking on this journey…

  • to improve my overall health.
  • to look better.
  • to continue to increase my level of confidence.
  • to feel happier in my own body.
  • to continue increasing my physical activity.
  • to train for a half marathon.

I find that I’m actually really liking this task. (And maybe I really am committing that to that half marathon this year??) It helps to start my day hearing my goals in my own voice. It sets an intention for the day.

Have you tried any strategies like this? Have they worked?

Standard

Leave a comment