Recipe Monday

Turkey and Spinach Meatballs

I’m usually not a big fan of touching raw meat. In fact, I’ll go way out of my way to avoid it – think rubber gloves, awkward use of two forks. But I have made these meatballs twice now and willingly smushed raw ground turkey around in my hands. I guess I just like them that much.

The first time I made them, I followed the recipe as directed here. But this time, I decided to make Italian meatballs to pair with spaghetti squash. I like both versions of the recipe.

2015-2-23_meatballs

Ingredients:

  • 1 lb 93% lean ground turkey
  • 3/4 cup oatmeal
  • 1/2 cup fat free milk
  • 1.5 tsp salt
  • 1/4 onion, minced
  • 1 box frozen chopped spinach, defrosted and extra liquid squeezed out
  • Hearty shakes garlic powder, dried oregano and basil
  • 1 cup spaghetti sauce

Directions:

  • Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Spray an 8 x 8 pan with cooking spray.
  • Combine all ingredients except sauce in bowl. Mix well with your hands.
  • Form 16 meatballs. Top with sauce.
  • Bake for 45 minutes or until cooked through.

Quick-glance nutrition information (from myfitnesspal app)

Per meatball | Calories: 70 | Fat: 2.5 grams | Carbs: 5.3 grams | Protein: 7 grams

Adapted from here.

Standard

Leave a Reply

