Mid-Week Break

Thoughts Of Spring

Okay, winter. I’ve had enough. I don’t want to be cold anymore. I’m sick of having dry, flaky skin around my nose. My nails are getting so brittle that they’re chipping and peeling again. And my car is not handling the sloppy roads well.

I’m crying “uncle.”

And I’m starting to think about spring and the return of a lush, green world. I’ve already got a gardening yen going. I’m starting to think about what vegetables I want to grow this year. Is it worth it to do zucchini again? My plot is small and it takes over. I can’t wait to pick out annuals for my front garden.

I want to feel the sun on my bare skin.

I’m also thinking of finally signing up for a CSA share this year. I guess it’s been on my bucket list. I’ve been curious about them for years now. I’ve checked out the offerings of local farms. But I’ve always been a bit intimidated by the cost and the possibility of overwhelming amounts of vegetables that I might not know what to do with.

I found one at a local farm that offers half shares, AND they include fruit in their shares. I think this is the right choice for me. I’m this close to putting down a deposit this weekend. I think it could be fun, challenging and healthy.

Have you gotten a CSA share before? Did you enjoy it?

Standard

Leave a Reply

