Week In Review

Blame It On Jumping

I almost passed out during my workout Saturday morning. Twice. At first I couldn’t figure out why I was feeling so crappy. I was extra sweaty. I blamed it on doing an exercise that involves jumping. I hate jumping. I had to lie down twice with my knees up. I was embarrassed.

After I got home (and texted a nurse friend), I realized my mistake. I had overslept a little and rushed to get ready. And in my haste, I didn’t hydrate properly. Sure, I drank a bit of water. But not my normal amount before a morning workout, and I paid dearly for that that deviation. I felt weak and slightly woozy for the rest of the morning, and I sucked down tea and water while running my errands. By the afternoon I felt better, but I know I won’t be making that mistake again.

Or so I think. Because this wasn’t my first brush with nearly passing out due to dehydration. The same friend can vouch for close calls on the plane to Vegas and on a sand bar in the middle of the ocean in the Dominican Republic. Why are the signs of dehydration so insidiously imperceptible?

Even if I can’t learn this lesson myself, I hope you take something away from it. It’s better to be safe (and drink extra water) than sorry (with your vision blacking out).

Standard

Leave a Reply

