Week In Review

Rest and Reset Day

I’m not gonna lie. The last week or so was a rough one for me in all sorts of ways. Work has been super busy, which equates to stress and stress eating. At social events, I didn’t attempt any modicum of self control with my food choices. And to top it all off, I was PMSing.

I thought I’d have no problem getting rid of those pesky few pounds I put on over the holidays. After all, I’m pretty stringent with my exercise routine, so all it would take is buckling down and cutting some calories. While I do pretty well left to my own devices, social occasions are still dietary free-for-alls. And weighing in at the trainer yesterday proved that I was not back “on track.”

So when I woke up this morning, slightly hungover and still exhausted because I didn’t get to bed until almost 2 a.m., I couldn’t bear the thought of going to the gym and pounding away on the treadmill. Usually even when I don’t want to go workout, I go workout because it’s only a “kind of” don’t want to go and I feel better once I get going. But this morning was a really really don’t want to go. I listened and took it easy today.

I’m calling it a rest and reset day. I’ve been so busy lately, I haven’t had my downtime. And I’m the type of person that needs me time in order to feel right. I made myself a nice lunch, did some light cleaning and laundry, and plopped my butt on the couch to watch TV and nap with the cats.

I’ve also spent some time poking around in my head, trying to figure out what’s going on with me. Making a mental catalog of how I’m feeling about things, what I want right now, what I don’t want. I also tried to set an intention for myself going forward; rework my frame of mind for success, rather than failure.

I think it’s going to work.

Standard

Leave a Reply

