Recipe Monday

Recipe Monday: Cabbage and White Bean Soup

I had some luck with two recipes I winged this weekend. One was a crock pot pork stew-thing that could have gone pretty wrong and the other was a soup, which would have been pretty hard to screw up. Although in my wine buzz, I probably could have managed it, but I didn’t. And now I want to share it with you.

I was inspired by some so-called zero points Weight Watchers recipes I saw on pinterest, but I didn’t follow any one recipe specifically. I’ve been adding some turkey meatballs from my freezer to up the protein count. This would also be great with some boneless pork ribs thrown in.

Cabbage and White Bean Soup

Yum yum soup

Yum yum soup

Ingredients:

  • 1 carrot, chopped
  • 1/4 vidalia onion, chopped
  • 1/2 small zucchini, sliced
  • 3 cups cabbage, chopped
  • 1 14.5 oz can diced tomatoes, with liquid
  • 1 14.5 oz can great northern beans, drained and rinsed
  • 3 cups chicken broth
  • 1 bay leaf
  • Salt and pepper to taste

Directions:

  • Using an immersion blender, puree about half the beans with a little liquid (optional)
  • Put all ingredients (except salt and pepper) in a pot and bring to a boil
  • Simmer for about 45 minutes, until vegetables are soft
  • Season with salt and pepper to taste

Quick-glance nutrition information (from myfitnesspal app)

Servings: 4 (2 cups each) | Calories: 168 | Fat: 0.8 grams | Carbs: 32 grams | Protein: 9.2 grams

Standard

Leave a Reply

