Week In Review

Week In Review: Too Social, Too Stressed

Sorry it’s been so quiet around here lately! I’ve been away from WordPress for most of the week. Between work events, friends and family, I’ve been busy. I didn’t make any time to sit down and put my thoughts in order. And I’m feeling a bit out of touch with myself. I think a little self check-in is in order.

Physical

I weighed in poorly at my training session yesterday, which is no surprise since I overate for most of the week. There was a lot of delicious food available to me and boy did I enjoy it. Being so social this week, I also ended up drinking a lot and feeling kind lousy because of it. At the last two events, I didn’t even want to drink anymore. I don’t know why I didn’t just order something non-alcoholic.

My trainer commented that I’m looking stronger and I can see more muscle definition in my arms and shoulders. I joked that it’s because I’ve been feeding my muscles so much lately…

I am also feeling really tired. Friday night I slept on the couch for four hours before actually going to bed. I think the worst part of drinking is that it really messes with my sleep.

Emotional

Right now I’m a little stressed. It’s a long weekend and there’s a lot I want to get done around my house. Busy season is looming at work and I know I’m going to have less free time soon, so I want to finish organizing my basement and my whole place needs a good cleaning. I got a lot done cleaning-wise today. Tomorrow I’m going to work on the basement. I can’t seem to relax and turn off the “go-go-go” mindset I had all day today.

Focus on the good things

Since I’m feeling kind of lousy right now, I’m going to focus on some of the nice things that happened last week:

  • Lovely dinner date at my friend’s house
  • Running on the treadmill and actually feeling good during it
  • Getting up on stage in front of over 100 people at the work offsite and not panicking about it
  • Taking my mom out for her birthday and having a nice time

I’m starting to feel better/calmer already.

Standard

2 thoughts on “Week In Review: Too Social, Too Stressed

  1. I had an off week too. They happen. It’s great yo spend time with friends but I find myself in a similar predicament – I eat food socially that I regret later. All we can do is find opportunities to do better this week. Good luck!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

