Week In Review

Week In Review: Ladder Workout, Stupid Snow

I took my Christmas tree down today. My living room looks weird now. I would have left it up a bit longer if we weren’t told to have them out at the dumpsters by tomorrow. I guess I wanted to pretend it was still the holidays.

Right now I’m enjoying the last few hours of calm before work picks up full swing tomorrow. Even though I was busy last week, most people were out of the office, so I could get work done in peace. I am not looking forward to tomorrow.

So what good things happened last week? I got an iPhone 6! My 4s was getting super unhappy, and I looked into AT&T’s new plans and realized that they were a better deal than my old plan (which isn’t even available anymore), so it worked out well.

At my training session Saturday, I did my first ladder workout. She gave me 6 exercises and first I went through each 10 times, then 9 times, then 8, and so on…. So by the end, I did each 55 times. At first I thought, no problem! I blew through the set of 10 and then realized when it came time to start the set of 9, that I wasn’t recovered yet. Rounds 8 and 7 were hard, but for some reason 6 was the magic number where it didn’t seem so bad anymore. And then 4, 3, 2, 1 just felt silly. It was nice change of pace from a regular circuit workout. And I did 55 push-ups!

My exercises where:

  • Jumping jacks
  • Push-ups
  • Reverse lunges with bicep curls
  • Kettlebell swings
  • Plank knee twists
  • Burpees with plank jack

So for Saturday afternoon, the weather forecast was calling for snow. Not a lot, just a coating up to an inch. Well, who would have known a coating of snow could make the roads so bad. My mom and I trekked down to Ikea so I could get some ideas for my basement office. The snow started on the way back and all was fine until I turned off the main road to drop her off. I could not brake or turn without losing control of my car. I’m getting stressed again just thinking about it! I won’t underestimate a coating of snow again.

Standard

Leave a Reply

