Recipe Monday

Recipe Monday: Black Bean Salsa

I don’t know about you, but when I go to parties, I like to bring something that people will enjoy. What’s better than something that people will enjoy that is also pretty healthy for you? You get that with my Black Bean Salsa. My friends request that I bring this to events and it’s super easy to make. I stole the recipe from Whole Foods, but I’ve made it so many times that I like to think of it as my own.

Ready to be mixed!

Ready to be mixed!

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups frozen corn, thawed
  • 1/2 cup chopped red onion, rinsed to remove acidity
  • 2 cans black beans, drained and rinsed
  • 1 red bell pepper, chopped
  • 2-3 tablespoons seasoned rice vinegar (depending on your tastes)
  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • 1 tablespoon lime juice
  • 1/4 teaspoon sea salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon black pepper
  • 1/3-1/2 cup cilantro leaves, chopped

Directions:

  • Mix together corn, onion, pepper and beans in a large bowl.
  • In a small bowl, whisk together rice vinegar, olive oil, lime juice, salt and pepper.
  • Add dressing to large bowl and mix thoroughly.
  • Add cilantro now or wait until just before serving. Make sure you give it another good stir before mixing so that the dressing redistributes.
  • Serve with delicious and unhealthy tortilla chips.

I’ve never recalculated the nutrition info based on my version (I use a bit more beans than the Whole Foods recipe), but if you want a good basis, check out the Whole Foods version.

Standard

Leave a Reply

