Mid-Week Break

Mid-Week Break: Cookie Extravaganza

Yesterday I did my annual Christmas baking. I usually give baked goods to family members, such as aunts and uncles, since I never know what to get for them. I think I might have gone overboard this year…

Holy cookies!

Holy cookies!

And of course as I baked, I sampled. Gotta try each type fresh out of the oven. Now, do they still taste as good when they’re cool? Which basically means that I ate more cookies than I should have.

That brings me to something I’ve been thinking a lot about this holiday season. Since Thanksgiving I’ve been having a terrible internal struggle, bouncing back and forth between:

  • “I’m going to keep on track” and then failing miserably with many food meltdowns; and,
  • “I’m just going to enjoy the holidays and not feel guilty” and then feeling very, very guilty about my overindulgences

How on earth do you balance the quest for a healthy lifestyle and the holidays? I want to enjoy myself but I also don’t want to undo too much of the work I’ve done this year. And honestly, I don’t have any great revelations about this just yet.

How do you handle the holidays? Are you just as lost as I am or do you have a game plan to get through?

Standard

Leave a Reply

