Recipe Monday

Recipe Monday: Roast Chicken and Shallots

I just discovered how delicious shallots are earlier this year. Maybe I avoided them because I was never a huge fan of onions? Or I ate them in things and didn’t realize I was eating them? I’m not sure entirely what the problem was, but I sure have been missing out.

I first ate shallots on a jalapeno popper pizza which was delicious, although not healthy. After that glorious pizza experience, I searched for more recipes that featured shallots. And I came across Roast Chicken and Shallots. This is one of those dishes that when you’re reheating leftovers at work, people will walk by and ask what smells so good. It’s great paired with a simple salad, mashed butternut squash or broccoli and a sweet potato.

Mmm shallot-y goodness

Mmm shallot-y goodness

 

Ingredients:

  • 1.5 tablespoons olive oil
  • 1.5 tablespoons red wine vinegar
  • 0.5 tablespoons soy sauce (I use low sodium)
  • 2 shallots, diced
  • 1 lb. chicken thighs (I like to cut them in half, but you don’t have to)

Directions:

  •  Preheat oven to 425 degrees
  • In a baking dish, combine olive oil, red wine vinegar, soy sauce and shallots
  • Add chicken and coat with mixture – scoop as many shallots as you can on top of the chicken pieces so they caramelize nicely
  • Bake for 20 minutes
  • Flip chicken pieces and redistribute shallots on top of chicken
  • Bake for an additional 15-20 minutes, until chicken is cooked through and shallots start to caramelize

Adapted slightly from: http://www.davidlebovitz.com/2010/03/roast-chicken-recipe-caramelized-s/

 

Quick-glance nutrition information (from myfitnesspal app)
Servings: 4|Calories: 194 Fat: 9.5 grams | Carbs: 2.8 grams | Protein: 22.8 grams

Standard

Leave a Reply

