Challenge of the Month

December Challenge of the Month

I started taking a power yoga class at the end of October. I hadn’t done yoga steadily in years – ever since I moved out of my dad’s house. I used to take a class through my hometown’s parks and rec department and I really enjoyed it. But my new town was in the middle of nowhere with no yoga classes nearby and I wasn’t dedicated enough to keep my practice up via DVD.

So when my trainer suggested I try her new power yoga series, I was game. I was a little nervous because it had been so long and the parks and rec class was nothing like power yoga. But I thought I’d give it a try.

It only was the first or second class that I was introduced to crow pose.

crow pose

Source: Fitsugar

Impossible!, I thought. You want me to balance how?? But after a few classes, I found that I could hold it for a few breaths. And now I want to hold it longer.

So my personal challenge for December will be to hold Crow Pose for 60 seconds. Who’s with me?

Leave a comment if you plan to work on this challenge with me. And I want to hear updates on your progress!

If you’re not familiar with Crow Pose or need a refresher, here’s a nice short youtube tutorial.  (I don’t think I’ll be trying that vinyasa at the end anytime soon though!)

Standard

Leave a Reply

