Recipe Monday

Recipe Monday – Sweet Potato Chili – No Bean and Bean Style

Like many trying to eat healthier, I turn to SkinnyTaste.com for healthy recipe ideas. It’s one of the best recipe blogs out there, in my humble opinion. I recently tried the No Bean Turkey and Sweet Potato Chili recipe because sweet potatoes are on my list of foods to learn to like. Other than in fried form, of course – I’ve already got a taste for that down.

While I really enjoyed the chili made as directed by the recipe, I found myself missing the beans. So I decided to try making it again, plus kidney beans. I also threw in a green pepper for good measure (I still have a hard time getting enough vegetables in everyday). I have to say – it turned out excellent.

Colorful meals are more fun

Colorful meals are more fun

So head on over here to check out Gina’s recipe, and think about adding a 14.5 oz. can of kidney beans (partially drained, I like adding some of the liquid) and a chopped up green pepper. I think you’ll be glad you did.

Quick-glance nutrition information (from myfitnesspal app)

With beans and green pepper

Servings: 7 (one cup each) | Calories: 239 | Fat: 6 grams | Carbs: 24.8 grams | Protein: 21 grams

Standard

Leave a Reply

